top of page
WAAHP 2023.png


May 3-5, 2023
A New Hope: Rise Up w
ith Resilience 

Meeting Location
Make reservations at the host hotel, May 3-5, at the beautiful Hilton Anaheim in Southern California, BEGINNING Monday, Jan. 9, 2023. 
Room nights start at $209 + ta
xes per night.  
The room rate is extended to 5/6/23. 

The WAAHP ’23 reserved block of rooms at the Hilton Anaheim is currently sold out. Please check on-line with the Hilton Anaheim and/or call the hotel, (714) 750-4321, to see if there is a change in availability. If there are no rooms at the Hilton, there many other lodging options in the area.

*WAAHP 2023 Instructions for Shipping Materials to the Hilton Anaheim*



Meeting Attendees

Register Here
Meeting Sponsors

 Register Here




The Proposals deadline closed on Friday, December 9, 2022



Conference Program Schedule

WAAHP 2023 Session Titles

(Up-to-date schedule and presenters are located in the registration portal

Wednesday, May 3 


9:00 - 6:00 pm           Attendee & exhibitor registration check-in, pick up materials, & sign    
                                 up for community dinners for each night!  

9:00 - 5:00 pm           Exhibitor Tables Open  


12:30 -1:20 pm          CDEI Experience Exchange Identity Networking Session(s) 
                                 NAAHP Post Bacc Committee Meeting


1:30 - 2:20 pm           50-minute Concurrent Breakout Session I    

2:30 - 3:20 pm           50-minute Concurrent Breakout Session II        

3:30 - 4:20 pm           50-minute Concurrent Breakout Session III       


4:20 - 4:40 pm           BREAK


4:50 - 5:50 pm           Welcome to WAAHP 2023! 
                                 (Official conference opening/
Padawan/Jedi Knight/Jedi Master networking


6:00 - 7:30 pm           Social/Reception 
                                 Sponsored by American University of Antigua College of Medicine


7:30 pm                     Dinner (on your own or with your colleagues) 


Thursday, May 4 (May the 4th Be with You)


7:00 am                     Morning Fitness Walk
                                 Sponsored by the American Association of Colleges of Podiatric 
                                 Medicine (AACPM)


8:00 am - 1:00 pm      Registration    


8:00 am - 5:30 pm      Exhibitor Tables Open    


8:00 - 9:30 am           Rise, Shine, and Breakfast (on your own for Non-WAAHP members)


8:00 - 9:30 am           WAAHP Business Breakfast Meeting-WAAHP Members Only


9:40 - 10:40 am         Visit with Exhibitors—learn about various programs!  

10:50 - 11:20 am       20-minute Concurrent Breakout Session with 10 min for Q&A 


11:30 am -12:50 pm   Lunch (on your own) 

1:00 - 1:50 pm           50-minute Concurrent Breakout Sessions I   

2:00 - 2:50 pm           50-minute Concurrent Breakout Sessions II 

2:30 - 4:00 pm           Health Professions Fair for Students   

3:00 - 5:30 pm           Health Professions Fair for Advisors   


5:45 - 7:30 pm           Hor d’Oeuvres & Wine Social, Hilton Anaheim, Patio Area
                                 Sponsored by Ross University School of Medicine (RUSM), American University Caribbean                                   School of Medicine (AUC), and Ross University School of Veterinary Medicine (RUSVM)


7:30 pm                     Dinner (on your own or with colleagues) 




Friday, May 5


7:00 - 9:00 am           Rise, Shine, and Breakfast on your own


9:00 - 9:50 am           50-minute Concurrent Breakout Session I

10:00 -10:50 am        50-minute Concurrent Breakout Sessions II

11:00 -11:30 am        20-minute Concurrent Breakout Sessions with 10 min Q&A  

11:40 am - 1:00 pm    Lunch and WAAHP '23 Meeting Remarks

                                 Samuel Merritt University and the California School of Podiatric Medicine are pleased                                         to sponsor this luncheon for WAAHP.  While we are all Jedi Warriors, special                                                     appreciation goes to all of the health science advisors who work every day to help                                             scholars achieve their dreams and professional aspirations.  

     May The Force Be With You.   

1:10 - 2:00 pm           50-minute Concurrent Breakout Session III 


2:10 - 3:00 pm           Poster Session 


3:10 - 3:40 pm           Topic Networking Session 


4:00 pm                     Meeting Wrap-Up and Tour of Western University of Health Sciences
                                 Western University of Health Sciences in Pomona, California would like to invite you to                                       visit their campus just after the meeting wraps up on Friday, May 5, 2023. Free round-                                       trip bus transportation will be provided. You’ll enjoy a focused campus tour, dinner with                                       current students and college deans, and participate in hands-on activities in our brand                                         new medical simulation suite. Pre-registration is required. Bus will depart the hotel at                                           4:00pm and we’ll have you back at the hotel around 8:30pm. See what’s available to                                       your students at our health professions university - Sign up for the WesternU campus visit.




Upcoming Dates

Mon, Jan 9th                 Early Bird 2023 Conference Registration Opens
                                 ($295 NAAHP members; $450 non-members)

                                 Hilton Anaheim Lodging Registration Opens 


                          Travel Grant Application Opens


Fri., Feb. 24th             Travel Grant Application Closes

Fri., March 10th          Early Bird Registration Closes

Sat., March 11th         General Registration Opens

                          ($450 NAAHP members; $625 non-members)

Fri., April 28th            WAAHP 2023 Registration Closes


WAAHP 2023 Planning Team Members

Chair: Charlie Scruggs, University of California, Riverside, CA, 
Assistant Chair: Joon Kim, Keck Graduate Institute, CA, 
WAAHP President and Sponsorship Chair: Doug Watson, Utah Valley University, UT, 

WAAHP Secretary/Treasurer: Denise Fullmer, Utah Valley University, UT 

Erin Colburn, Idaho State University—Meridian, ID 

Katherine Brackmann, Gonzaga, WA

Maureen Leong-Kee, Oregon State University, OR

DeEtta Mulay, Scripps College, CA
Marie Dutton, University of San Francisco, CA

Selina DerSarkissian, University of Southern California, CA

Kristi Weddige, Cal Poly-SLO, San Luis Obispo, CA
Ashley Sylvester, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, NV


bottom of page